The Press Photographer of the Year Awards were established to bring the talented & memorable work of Ireland's press photographers to a wider audience. Entries are submitted by members of the Press Photographers Association of Ireland and the images should have been taken during the previous twelve months.

The Awards have gone from strength to strength and judging the entries can take several days. With over 2,000 entries to consider, all of a very high standard, difficult decisions have to be made. The Judging panel picks first, second and third places in each of nine picture categories, as well as the overall winner.

To view this years winners select from the categories.

Arts and Entertainment

1st Place Winner

Arts and Entertainment 2008, Gerry Mooney


Stage actor George Seremba sees the stage from a different angle, during a visit to Dublin’s Abbey Theatre.


1st Place Winner

Features 2008, Brian Lawless

DON'T LET GO DADDY by Brian Lawless

A young girl clings to her father’s finger as she watches the guests arrive for her aunt’s wedding.

View fullsize

Individual Study

1st Place Winner

Individual Study 2008, David Conachy

POET'S DEN by David Conachy

Poet, author and playwright Ulick O’Connor at his home in Dublin.


1st Place Winner

News 2008, Steve Humphreys


The first glimpse of Wayne O’Donoghue, who had been imprisoned for manslaughter, as he is driven in the back of his father’s car after his release from the Midlands Prison a few moments earlier.


1st Place Winner

People 2008, Don Moloney

LAST PRAYERS by Don Moloney

Caoimhe and Niamh O’Gorman from Ennis Road, Limerick, say prayers for the last time in the Franciscan Church on Henry Street, Limerick, now closed

Picture Story

1st Place Winner

Picture Story 2008, David Conachy

IN GOD WE TRUST by David Conachy

Former Taoiseach Bertie Ahern’s final official visit to the USA, before he stepped down as Taoiseach


1st Place Winner

Politics 2008, Julien Behal

NO LOOKING BACK by Julien Behal

Former First Minister of Northern Ireland, Dr. Ian Paisley and Deputy First Minister of Northern Ireland, Martin McGuinness sit on a platform at the opening of the new Victoria Square Shopping Centre, on the evening Dr. Paisley announced he was stepping down as First Minister.

Sports Action

1st Place Winner

Sports Action 2008, Darren Kidd

SPLASH-PROOF by Darren Kidd

A competitor ploughs through the course at the Belfast International Cross Country, at Stormont Estate

Sports Feature

1st Place Winner

Sports Feature 2008, John C Kelly

WATER BOY by John C Kelly

Shannon swimmer and 2012 Olympic hopeful Chris Bryan goes through his early morning paces at Shannon pool, Co. Clare.