The 42nd annual awards of The Press Photographers Association of Ireland took place in Dublin on 28th February 2020, at a gala awards ceremony held in Dublin, with photographers from across the island of Ireland represented. Taoiseach Leo Varadkar was in attendance to present the overall award of the ‘Press Photographer of the Year’ 2020 award.
Independent News & Media photographer Mark Condren was named ‘Press Photographer of the Year’ 2020. Mark was awarded 1st prize in Politics, for his photo of Taoiseach Leo Varadkar during the naming and commissioning ceremony of the L.E. George Bernard Shaw; 1st prize in Portrait, for his striking image of open water swimmer Rachel Lee and 1st prize in the Multimedia category, for a video piece on a former Mountjoy inmate who followed his dream to become a triathlete. This is Mark’s fifth time to win the award, having been named ‘Press Photographer of the Year’ in 2009, 2011, 2013 and 2016, he has also won a European policing photography award.
The judging panel was chaired by photographer Frank Miller and former picture editor, The Herald, Glasgow, Jim Connor and internationally acclaimed photographer Edmond Terakopian. The multimedia award was judged by Michael Lee, RTÉ cameraman and Philip Bromwell, RTÉ News video and mobile journalist.
Crispin Rodwell, President, The Press Photographers Association of Ireland, said; “By winning the overall Press Photographer of the Year title for a fifth time Mark Condren has etched his name into the record books. Adding this year’s multi-media award to those he has won for his still photographs demonstrates that in a changing technological landscape he was able to adapt his extraordinary eye and unique style to create a powerful and moving video. Mark’s portfolio has earned its place, along with all the other winners, in the nation’s visual history”.
The awards also featured the announcement of three new honorary members to the association, for outstanding contribution to the association and to press photography in Ireland. The newly appointed honorary members are former The Irish Times photographer Eric Luke, freelance photographer Nutan and broadcaster Miriam O’Callaghan.
The Press Photographers Association of Ireland ‘Press Photographer of the Year 2020’ Exhibition, featuring 109 prints will visit locations around Ireland in the coming months.